Novel use for an old phone box

I don’t know if I’ve ever mentioned this, but I live in an unfashionable part of London.

Or so I have always assumed…

But what am I to make of this? On Saturday morning the Boss and I strolled along to Brockley market to buy some over-priced (but very tasty) vegetables and fruit. As we walked home we passed this telephone box (see below). Inside it (as you can plainly see) were shelves of books. I’m sure they weren’t there last time I passed it! An enterprising local artistic entrepreneur has bagged the box and turned it into a bring-one-take-one book swapping spot.

I’d never heard of this before, but it turns out that SE13 still has a way to go to outstrip Westbury in Wiltshire. They’ve had a phone box library since 2009.

Back to being unfashionable…

Phone Box Loampit Hill

Leave a comment

Filed under London, Places

Leave a Reply

